[ 1979 ]

Star Trek: The Motion Picture


Science Fiction

Star Trek: The Motion Picture is a 1979 American science fiction film directed by Academy Award winner Robert Wise, and written by Harold Livingston (based on characters created by Gene Rodenberry), with music composed by Jerry Goldsmith.  It was released by Paramount Pictures . It is the first Star Trek film and stars the cast of the original 1966–1969 Star Trek television series: William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, DeForest Kelley, George Takei, James Doohan, Majel Barrett, Walter Koenig, Nichelle Nichols.  With Persis Khambatta, Stephen Collins, Grace Lee Whitney, Mark Lenard, and Billy Van Zandt as the bridge’s Alien Ensign.

“State of the art screen magic!” – Variety

“This is terrific stuff.” – Roger Ebert